Happy Thanksgiving!!

This year it seems as if Thanksgiving has just snuck up on me. I’m just not ready! I’ve had the flu for almost two weeks, but I’m better and ready to tackle the cooking. I’m so glad we are not having our family Thanksgiving until Saturday Our menu is below with the cook beside it:

Smoked Turkey (Jim)
Smoked Ham (Jim)
Dressing (Mom – with me doing the cornbread)
Deviled Eggs (me)
Broccoli & Raisin salad (me)
Green Bean Casserole (Rebekah)
Fried Sweet Potatoes (mom)
Butter Beans (mom)
Rolls (me)
4 layered Dessert (mom)

We will have 9 people here on Saturday which is a small number for us. With the illnesses and other health problems lately, its probably better that this is a light year for us. I’m excited to be together with my family. I’m even starting to get excited about Christmas. I’m hoping to get my tree up by Dec. 10th. That’s my goal right now.

We also have some fun things to look forward to in the coming month. We have two parades to attend, a tree lighting, and our church’s Christmas musical. Our family also goes to look at lights at least once every year. Mom and I haven’t done any decorating yet, but I know we will begin that now that I’m better.

I’ve been surfing the internet looking for some Christmas crafts to do, and I found a good site. It’s Handimania. They’ve got some great and fun crafts. I also found a couple of good ones on youtube. One was LilyShop, and the other was ModernMom. I loved the Christmas Tree craft made of just construction paper and wrapping paper. They are cone shaped, but very cool. If you like to craft you might enjoy them.

I love Christmas time. The lights, the presents, the family being together, and especially knowing that this is our time to celebrate our Savior’s birth makes this a very special time.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Thanksgiving and will have a blessed Christmas.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Eleanor McArthur
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 14:28:50

    I loved your page.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

