Training to walk a 5K.

I’ve decided that I’m going to begin training to walk a 5K. I’m doing this to help me reach my weight loss goals. I know a 5K seems extreme, but I think by going by a training schedule I can do this. And of course, I’m only walking NOT running it. I don’t think I’ll be running anywhere, unless of course something really big is after me. But I can walk. I’m going to use Hal Hidgon’s 5K for Walkers. The training will take 8 weeks, so I should be ready to walk a 5K by May 12th. I did start today, but I’m officially starting the training on Monday, March 18, 2013. I’ve found a 2K fun run here in Tupelo on May 11th, so I’m going to do that one. There is another one, a 5K in Columbus, that I could also do. I’ll post which one I’ll be going to. I’d love for some of my friends to walk with me! That would be so great! So if anyone is interested, let me know.

So today I did walk for 15 min. I made it fine, no passing out or anything. Abby rode her bike while I walked. I don’t feel like I’ll have trouble until I have to walk for 30 min. Let me know if anyone is going to do this also.

Here is a picture of the walking schedule.

3 13 13 003

I had to make my own schedule because the one on the website would not print out. So if you would like this copy, let me know.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

