Homemade Laundry Detergent

How many of you have tried making your own laundry detergent?  I never have but I’ve decided to try it.  A friend of mine has been making hers for a couple of years, and she assures me it saves a ton of money.  We discussed the difference between liquid and dry and also the ingredients.  My friend likes the liquid best.  She says it takes a little longer, but that in her opinion it works better.  So I’ve decided I’m going to try it.  The recipe I’m going to try is:

Homemade Laundry Detergent

1 bar Fels-Napha soap (my friend said that Ivory soap would do as well)

1 cup Borax

1 cup Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda

1/4 cup Arm & Hammer baking soda

1/2 cup Oxyclean

Grate the bar of soap with a cheese grater or a food processor.  In a large pot boil 4 cups of water and put in grated soap.  Stir until all soap is melted.  In a 5 gallon bucket pour in boiling water until half full.  Pour in melted soap.  Put in washing soda, borax, baking soda and oxyclean.  Stir until well blended.  Fill bucket with water until full.  Cover and let sit overnight.  When you open the bucket the next day the mixture will have congeled and thickened.  Stir again.  Pour mixture into milk jugs.  This way you can shake before using.  Use 5/8 cup for a top loading washer and 1/4 cup for front loading washers.

I’ll let you know how it goes with mine.  If you try it, please let me know how it goes.

I’m also going to try making my own “hard” hand lotion.  I’ll give you that recipe next time.

Blesses to you!!

Leave a Reply

