Our Spelling Program

Spelling has been a trial and error kind of thing for us.  We have been using ACE Word Building for spelling, but she has about 50 words per book.  Its just too much for her. A couple of weeks ago, I started trying something on our own which has worked pretty well.  I found the concept at Unique Teaching Resources , this is a great site.  I’ve used some of her book report templates and Abby and Kristin have really enjoyed them.  Getting back to spelling, her philosophy is to build your own spelling word list.  You get 7 words from the most commonly used words in our language, 7 words from the most commonly misspelled words in our language, and 7 words from a spelling rule.  So you only have 21 words per week.  For Abby that has been more manageable.  I had to look up the basic spelling rules, but from there it has been easy.

I am going to try another program also with Abby.  Its called Sequential Spelling.  They have a website if you would like to check them out.  I think this program will help Abby start from the easiest words and work up.  I also think it will help her gain some confidence with her spelling.  I’m hoping to use this program with both the girls.  It has a pretty good remedial tract, if the student needs more help. I’ll post on how it’s going as we work through each program.

Blessings!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. paul
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 18:35:54

    Thanks Collette for the blog link. You should post on the Homeschool Channel.
    Blessings,
    Paul

    Reply

  2. Christa
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 19:43:28

    We use Sequential spelling and really like it. The way it’s done just makes sense to me. I think the biggest benefit is that it teaches how to spell, not how to memorize the spelling of a list of words. Spelling has been a real challenge and frustration for Kenna…her reading level outreaches her spelling level. She reads so well she knows when it’s spelled incorrectly, but doesn’t know how to fix it.

    Reply

    • tshhomeschool
      Mar 16, 2011 @ 02:07:40

      Thanks for your imput. I’m so glad to hear you like Sequential Spelling. I’m looking forward to using it. I’m hoping it’s in my Monday, so I’ll be posting about how its working in the future.

      Thanks for the comment.
      Colette

      Reply

Leave a Reply

