Creative Writing

I have been looking  for a good  creative writing program for my daughter.  At the homeschool convention I looked into a couple of programs, but both were expensive.  I started looking on the internet to see what I could find.  I did find a couple of things, and Abby and I started one yesterday.  This is one of the activities we have decided to do.  She picks four numbers, each one between 1 and 10.  The first is the character, the second is the setting, the third is the time period, and the last is the situation.  I made cards to correspond to each number.  For example: the character cards are #1 – an older lady, #2 – a photographer, #3 – an alien from outer space, etc.  After she picked her cards, we made a sentence to go with the cards she picked.  Her sentence turned out to be:  A photographer was at a shopping mall after a thunderstorm has just passed and someone had just reached an important goal.  After some whinning about it, she actually did a great job.  She will work on this story for about a week.  We will then proofread, rewrite and publish her work.  I’ve been thinking about how to publish her writing.  I know I’m going to allow her to type her story, but then I think I might try and find a website that publishes students’ writing.  I’ve seen a couple of these sites, I just need to research them and find a good one.  If anyone knows of a good site please let me know.  When we do publish her story, I’ll post where you can read it.

Next time I will tell you about the spelling program we have started. 

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

